Boyertown Bears Wrestling

Pottsgrove upperweights going for gold at District 1-3A North tournament

by Jeff Stover, Pottstown Mercury

Posted on February 21, 2020

Article originally appeared here:

POTTSTOWN >> They're big men for Pottsgrove - in more aspects than just physique.

Avery Shivak, Zachary Van Horn and Manny Allen occupy the three heaviest weight classes in the Falcons lineup. Together, they have a 71-11 record in bouts this winter and Top 3 medals from the Pioneer Athletic Conference's individual tournament in January.

Combined, they have no district gold medals. But the trio is looking to change that status this weekend during the District 1-AAA North Tournament at Pottstown High.

"It's just like another tournament," Van Horn said prior to Friday's session. "Getting a district title is big, and a good seed for regionals."

Van Horn (25-3) got a good district seed atop the 220-pound bracket. That standing was helped by his winning a gold medal in the PAC's in-season individual tournament back in January.

"Scoring points first, and having the advantage," Van Horn said about his PAC tourney experience. "Working for a fall or points."

Van Horn wrapped up his quarterfinal-round bout with Owen J. Roberts' Jaden Viti in strong fashion, getting the fall in 1:19. That puts him into Saturday's semifinal with Conestoga's Matt Palomo, who scored a second-period fall.

"I like the post-season," he said. "Everything's on you. It's a lot calmer."

Van Horn's mat career will end over the next couple weeks. His college plan is to attend Alvernia University and play football.

"This will be my last time, so I want to go out with a bang."

Like Van Horn, Shivak (21-5) is looking to pack as much achievement into his scholastic wrestling career as possible. District gold will be a definite upgrade from the third-place medal he got at the PAC's individual tournament.

"I wish I didn't have as many losses," he said. "I feel confident, and ready to go farther this year."

Shivak also had a quick night. In his 195 opener against Owen J. Roberts' Dylan Bauer, he scored a 1:31 pin to set up a semifinal meeting with Perkiomen Valley's Jakob Sterling, a 4-0 winner over Upper Perkiomen's Damon Faraco.

"Some kids I wrestled at PACs, I didn't do well," Shivak said. "I didn't do well. I want to do better the next time I wrestle them."
Shivak is looking to wrestle in college, Delaware Valley University a possible stop. As such, a strong post-season run will serve him well in attracting attention from colleges.

"My goal is to make states and do something," he said. "Just making it there will be cool."

His second seed is a notch below his teammates, but still pleasing to him.

"I didn't really expect second," he said. "I'm psyched."

Though he has another year of scholastic eligibility, Allen (25-3) is nonetheless seeking to accomplish as much this season as he can.

"I wanted to go undefeated this year," the Falcon junior said. "Hopefully I can do that next year."

In his Friday bout with Pottstown's Future Lynch, Allen came back from a 0-0 first period to scored three points in the second. He then finished Lynch off with a pin 21 seconds before time expired."

"I use my speed," the professed light-heavyweight said. "Being lighter makes it easier to move around."

He's not adverse, though, to wrapping up with heavier opponents.

"Tying up is fine. I don't want to get under," he said. "I try to get out the best I can ... think what to do at the moment."

* * *

A legion of PAC wrestlers advanced to the semifinal round, one step away from qualifying for next weekend's South East AAA Regional at Souderton.

106: Matt Milkowich, Upper Perkiomen; Luke Heimbach, Boyertown; Dominic Ortlip, Spring-Ford; Tony Lindgren, Pottsgrove.
113: Matt Martin, Upper Perkiomen; Quinn Smith, Spring-Ford; Justin Meyers Phoenixville; Julien Maldonado, Boyertown.
120: Kelly Kakos, Perkiomen Valley.
126: Chance Babb, Boyertown; Osvaldo Carbajal, Methacton; Luke Ricci, Perkiomen Valley.
132: Isaiah Tucker, Norristown; Demond Thompson, Pottstown; P.J. Kakos, Perkiomen Valley; Quinn Tobin, Spring-Ford.
138: Kibwe McNair, Methacton; Zach Needles SF, Zach Rozanski, Upper Perkiomen.
145: Antonio Petrucelli, Owen J. Roberts; Noah Fisher, Boyertown; Alex Johns, Spring-Ford.
152: Jack McGill, Spring-Ford; Eric Jefferies, Perkiomen Valley; Angelo Franzone, Phoenixville.
160: Connor Quinn, Owen J. Roberts; Owen Koch, Phoenixville; Roman Moser, Methacton.
170: Austin Boaman, Owen J. Roberts; Jason Lepore, Spring-Ford; Anthony Stevenson, Phoenixville; Alan Alexander, Boyertown.
182: Joey Milano, Spring-Ford; Tommy Dempsey, Owen J. Roberts; Jacob Sturm, Perkiomen Valley.
195: Louie Carbajal, Spring-Ford; Zack Griffin, Pottstown; Jakob Sterling, PV; Avery Shivak, Pottsgrove.
220: Zachary Van Horn, Pottsgrove; Anthony Bauer, Boyertown.
285: Manny Allen, Pottsgrove; Vincent Corropolese, Perkiomen Valley; Sean Brogan, Spring-Ford.

NOTES >> Saturday's schedule kicks off with first-round consolations at 9:30 a.m., with semifinals and another round of consis at 10 a.m. Medal matches are scheduled for 4 p.m. following the traditional Parade of Champions. ... Conestoga's Ezra Toll got the 100th win of his scholastic career with a victory in his quarterfinal-round bout with Great Valley's Nick Mort.

[ return to previous page ]

  Copyright © 2020, Boyertown Area Wrestling Association